Chinese poems

Kids from age 1 – 6 pick up things at tremendous speed. This is the optimum period to teach them new things especially languages. Their ability to remember things is also very impressive.

I “taught” ern her first Chinese poem about 6 months ago but only managed to record it down on video today ; ) but what I really did half a year ago was to recite it once every night before she goes to sleep. (did that for 3-4 consecutive nights) and when we played the ball, each time she passes the ball to me, I will recite one sentence and then the next sentence when the ball is passed again. It’s very fun this way and she enjoys it. We did that for roughly 3 times and then I forgot about it when I got busy with work. I didn’t think she can remember but she surprises all of us when I asked her to recite with me and she did. But she didn’t want us to record it on video till 6 months later. (today)

She is on to another poem now… Wonder when she will let me video that!

I’ve never understood why parents wants their children to recite poems. Then I found out the need to do so recently.

What we teach at home or in school by their teachers it empowers them with knowledge. As with Chinese poems, when they understand the meaning; the wisdom grows with them.

My Chinese word recognition is bad. Ee fann is good. But my pronunciation is good. Ee fann is not as good. So i seek his help with the words and I recite to ern. I’m very particular with how I ennounce every word (English or mandarin. Mandarin especially) because ern will learn exactly how I say it. Thank god… I must say im pretty blessed in this department. Back in primary school, I represented my school in 诗歌朗诵 that’s why till now I still have it! Hahahaha! A lot of us even for myself at times, we mispronounce certain words for instance 灯笼 (lantern) should not be pronounced as deng(1) long(2) but deng(1) long the second word long is “quiet” – Qing sheng. Han yu pin yin; C v.s CH, S v.s SH etc… Actually there are really many more commons words that are mispronounced.

But do focus on reciting the words CLEARLY and where it needs to be emphasized (accent); do it. They learn much better this way. It applies to English words too. I’m not a linguist but I do my best. Take for example Manchester. Usually people will pronounce it ManCHESTer. (with emphasis on CHEST) the correct way is MANchester . (emphasis on MAN) and also another important point which many people already knew, when pronouncing words such as eat (T), kite (TE), tasks (S-K-S) etc… Regardless, not irregardless. The word “often” should be pronounced as “ofen” disregard the “t”. Also there are many redundant words such as “past experience”. The word experience is already in the past so no need to place the word past before it. But, that’s just me.

This is just something which I want to share. Hope it benefits you ; )

Leave a Reply

